Last night, the great and the good of Scottish fashion kicked off the global fashion carousel as they paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 9th Annual Scottish Fashion Awards co-hosted by The Secretary of State for Scotland Alistair Carmichael MP and awards founder & Chair Dr Tessa Hartmann. The glittering black tie gala and ‘Scottish Banquet’ was held at 8 Northumberland in London and presented by the ever stylish TV personality Laura Whitmore with the gala being attended by a host of stars from the fashion, music and entertainment industries including Holly Fulton, Andreas Kronthaler, Tali Lennox, David Gandy, Twin Atlantic, Tallia Storm, Pam Hogg, Lilah Parsons, Jenni Falconer, Sam McKnight, Henry Holland, Lynsey Sharp (Commonwealth medalist), Brix Smith Start, Leah & Natt Weller, Tanya Burr, Oliver Cheshire, Nina Nesbitt and Seb Morris. Pixie Lott performed a surprise acoustic set to the VIP audience.

Red Carpet Biz: David Gandy receiving the Founders Award 2014
David Gandy receiving the Founders Award 2014

Dame Vivienne Westwood was inducted into the Hall of Fame for her undeterred loyalty and unparalleled love and passion for Scottish textiles and fabrics, which she has consistently used throughout her collections over the years. Christopher Kane was named Scottish Designer of the Year, whilst sixteen year old Jean Campbell was named Scottish Model of the Year having secured campaigns with Burberry and featuring in both British and Italian Vogue and singer Amy Macdonald was crowned Scottish Fashion Icon.

Red Carpet Biz joins Vivienne Westwood as she collects her Scottish Fashion Award
Red Carpet Biz joins Vivienne Westwood as she collects her Scottish Fashion Award

The Scottish Fashion Awards 2014 winners are;

Scottish Designer of the Year – Christopher Kane

Scottish Young Designer of the Year – Hayley Scanlan

Scottish Textile Brand of the Year – Dhu

Scottish Communicator of the Year – Avril Mair, Harper’s Bazaar


Scottish Retailer of the Year – Abandon Ship Apparel

Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year – William Chambers Millinery

Scottish Fashion Graduate of the Year – Colleen Leitch

International Designer of the Year – Simone Rocha


Scottish Model of the Year – Jean Campbell


Scottish Exporter of the Year – Mackintosh

Luxury Retailer – Harvey Nichols, Edinburgh

Fashion Icon 2014 – Amy MacDonald

Hall of Fame 2014 – Dame Vivienne Westwood

Fashion Ambassador 2014 –

Professor Christopher Moore on behalf of Professor Pamela Gillies, British School of Fashion

Belinda Earle on behalf of Marc Bolland, Marks and Spencer

Founders Awards 2014 – David Gandy

Leave your comments here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s